Club Patron - Ed Ordynski

Ed began rallying in 1974 in a Toyota Corolla he bought for $200 while he was attending Flinders University in South Australia.

In 1975 he entered his first Australian Rally Championship event, finishing 14 th overall and first in class.

He began school-teaching in 1977 and spent most of his weekends pursuing rally driving until he became South Australian Rally Champion in 1986, driving a Subaru RX Turbo.

In 1989 he became the first Australian to win at World Championship level when he took victory in Group N (the category for showroom production cars) in a privately entered Mitsubishi Galant VR4 at Perth's Rally Australia.

With support from Pedders Suspension, he went on to win the Australian Rally Championship outright and contest Group N World Championship rallies in New Zealand, Finland, Sweden and Australia, taking eight wins in all.

Ed is indeed best known for his amazing record in Group N - he has had eight Group N wins from eleven starts at Australia's round of the World Rally Championship, winning six consecutively from 1991 to 1996 - and has won the Australian Group N Rally Championship four times.

He has also competed in several Asia-Pacific countries; made sixteen trips to China as a race instructor; raced V8s at Bathurst and Sandown; in 12 Hour races at Eastern Creek and Bathurst with George Fury and Win Percy; and in 1995, in a two-car team with Peter Brock, won the Mobil 1 Round Australia Trial, a 20,000km event.

In 1998 Ed was awarded the prestigious, "Columnist-of-the-Year" at the Magazine of the Year Awards, for his motorsport articles in Fast Fours & Rotaries Magazine.

He rates this as one of his best wins alongside the special gold plate awarded by Mitsubishi Motors for six consecutive wins in their worldwide, "Driver-of-the-Year" award.

At the 2001 Telstra Rally Australia, Ordynski took one of his strongest World Championship Group N wins when he defeated both the 2001 World Champion, Gabriel Pozzo and 2000 Champion Manfred Stohl.

In 2003, Ed and codriver Iain Stewart finished second in the Australian Rally Championship in a Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Lancer Evolution VII placing 2 nd in the Rally of Queensland; 1 st in the NSW Premier State Rally and 1 st in the Rally of South Australia. The duo led the World Rally Championship Telstra Rally Australia in Group N for two-thirds distance until a freak rollover ended their hopes of an unprecedented ninth victory.

After being a factory driver for Team Mitsubishi Ralliart for many years, the manufacturer's rally activities for 2004 were placed under the caretaker management of Tasmanian privateer, Les Walkden, Ed driving the team's second Evo VII in a season with mixed results.

So far in 2005 Ed has contested the Longyou International Rally of China driving for the GT Tires Team in a Subaru WRX Sti, taking a great 2 nd place.

Ed lives in South Australia with wife, Kathy and family of Max, a Golden Retriever, Bruce the Thoroughbred Gelding, Rio the Quarterhorse, and four steers, Cody, Possum, Neal and Simon, on their 2.5 hectare hills property.

He drives an MGB but also has a Mitsubishi Pajero, three Datsun 1600s, a Suzuki LJ80 4WD, Holden HG ute, Holden Monaro and a Yamaha TY250 Trials Bike.

Although primarily known as a factory rally driver, Ed has worked behind the scenes in many different roles, organising drive days and promotional events, conducting training seminars and new product launches. Ed is also Competitor Adviser to the Australian Rally Commission.

In recent years, Ed has trained and coached many rally competitors both in Australia and overseas including the winners of the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship; the Australian Rally Championship; the Japanese Dirt Trial Championship; the Indonesian Rally Championship; the Thailand Rally Championship; the Thailand Rallycross Championship; the Malaysian Rally Championship; the runner-up in the RAC Rally of the UK; and the state rally championship winners in Victoria, Tasmania, Queensland and South Australia.

During 2005/6 Ed has been working as a movie stunt driver instructor and has recently been appointed chairman of the Australian Rallying Commission, this took effect from Jan 2007.

As head of the governing body of the sport, he holds in his hands the future of all car rallying in Australia from club events to State championships, tarmac events such as the Classic Adelaide and Targa Tasmania, and the Australian Rally Championship. For the past five years he has been the competitors’ advisor to the Commission.

Motorsport Highlights