President's report - April 2024

A bumper report this month with major highlights from the Annual General Meeting held in March.

First up – after 19 years of service to the Club, Ed Ordynski has stood down as Patron. Apart from being a motorsport legend, Ed has been a tireless ambassador for our Club for a record length of time and he was farewelled at the AGM with a specially designed plaque commemorating his service and complimentary life membership of the Club.

Ed's replacement is one of our own -Associate Professor Peter Cundy.

Peter Joined the MG Car Club in 1992 and has been active in the Pre-War & T- Register section of the club for many years.

Peter's current fleet of MGs consist of a 1934 MG NA supercharged racer, 1953 MG TD, 1960 MG A, and a 1964 MGB.

Professionally, Peter is an Orthopaedic Surgeon with over 35 years' experience treating all forms of paediatric and adult orthopaedic conditions and injuries. He has worked extensively not just in Adelaide but also in the UK, the US, and the South Pacific. He has international recognition for his work and has published more than 80 peer-reviewed papers in his field.

A more detailed biog of our new Patron appears in the magazine/on the website.

As always, the Annual Awards were a major feature of the AGM and the winners were:

Club Member of the Year: John Roach Club Competition Champion of the Year: Jason Edwards Junior Competition Champion of the Year: Tyler Edwards Women's Competition Champion of the Year: Fay Edwards President's Award for outstanding contribution by a club member – Bev Waters MGA/Magnette Trophy: Robert Grivell MGF & Modern MG Register Trophy – the Tony Hick Trophy – Dick Manning Irving Cup – Pre-War, Y & T Register – Brian Golding.

The AGM also saw some changes on the Committee. I have one-year left of my two-year term as President, and Steve Bowra successfully nominated as Vice President to replace Arthur Ruediger, who's been a tower of strength to me for the past 12 months. Thanks Arthur. Steve is also taking over from Jason Edwards as Motor Sport Secretary – thanks to you too Jason for a great job in a hugely demanding position.

Other Executive Committee positions are unchanged.

I also want to thank Peter Auld, who stood down from the General Committee to allow an introduction of fresh blood. Peter has made major contributions to our debates throughout the past year of my Presidency and often spots issues that may otherwise have gone unrecognised.

There were five nominations for the four General Committee positions and those elected were Arthur Ruediger, Tim Johnson, Lynden Burns and Leigh Albertson. Congratulations to you all and I look forward to working with you over the next 12 months. And to John Kemp who was unsuccessful in the election, thank you for your contributions over the past year and I look forward to working with you in your continuing role as Webmaster.

Lynden Burns has also taken over the vacant role of managing Parades and Displays.

For the first time, the Club has recognised those people who have been members for 50 years or more, and at the AGM they were acknowledged and presented with special badges and complimentary subscription membership in recognition of their long-term achievement.

They are: John Grant, Bob Bazzica, Andrew Willington, Trevor Driver, Peter Auld, Ian Buckley, Pat Clarkin, Bob Schapel, Peter Hage, Garry Chapman, Adrian Akhurst, Paul Dallwitz and Reg O'Malley. 50-year members who passed away while still financial are Ian Curwen-Walker and Don Offler.

Congratulations to you all.

Among those present at the AGM was Ron Hay, who is the last living member of the Club's 1956 Founding Committee. Ron was accompanied by his daughter, Margaret Hay, who was accepted as a new member at the Monthly General Meeting preceding the AGM.

Finally, a big thank-you to everyone who has assisted me in any way during the first year of my Presidency, it is greatly appreciated. There are some new faces and new roles in the 12 months ahead and I am looking forward to working with the team and the opportunities that will bring.

Safety Fast!

Stephen Marlow President.

